Best VPN Providers for UK Business in 2026: Proton Wins, NordVPN Runs It Close, Mullvad Sets the Honesty Benchmark, and the £2 Deals That Cost £6 a Month
A VPN is sold like a gym membership. The price on the poster is for the first two years, paid up front, and the number that matters (what you pay every year after) is in the small print, if it is anywhere. In this comparison the ten providers' longest plans renew at anything from 0% more than the intro rate to 236% more. So, as with domain registrars, we ranked on the renewal and computed a renewal premium for each: how much more per month the same plan costs after its introductory term. Zero means the advertised price is the real price. A hundred and seventy-nine means you were sold £2.19 a month and will pay £6.10.
Price is only the first question, because a VPN is a company you are asking to see all your traffic. So we recorded who owns each provider and where it answers to, whether an independent auditor has examined the no-logs claim and whether you can read the report, and what has happened when police or courts came calling. Then the questions a small business or agency actually has: can we get a fixed IP for the office systems that need one, can our devices talk to each other privately, is there SSO, is there a Linux client, can we reach a human. We did not measure speed: we do not publish numbers we have not tested properly.
Ten providers. Proton VPN and NordVPN are first-party: more than five years on NordVPN, just over a year on Proton. The other eight are assessed on published pricing, documentation and Trustpilot and are labelled "Not yet tested". Prices were read on 7 September 2026 in the currency each provider shows a UK visitor. One sourcing note: two of the most-read VPN "review" sites, vpnMentor and Wizcase, are owned by Kape, the parent of ExpressVPN and Private Internet Access, and cybernews and vpnpro by the parent of NordVPN and Surfshark. We used none of them.
Quick take: Proton VPN wins on Swiss jurisdiction, a non-profit foundation as its largest shareholder, five public no-logs audits, open-source apps, Secure Core and Stealth on every paid plan, a real free tier, and years of reliable use in our own business; the two-year deal doubles at renewal, so read the price you will live with. Runner-up NordVPN is the more capable of the two for a team (Meshnet device-to-device networking survived its 2025 death notice, and UK dedicated IPs are a cheap add-on), but its 27-month deal renews at £104.28 a year, the steepest cliff here. Mullvad is the honesty benchmark: €5 a month since 2009, no account, no renewal, a police raid that found nothing. Tailscale is the mesh done properly. At the bottom, Cloudflare's free tier is marked down for the same reason its registrar was (you are the product), and ExpressVPN is last for what surrounds a technically excellent VPN: an owner with an adware past that also owns the review sites, a hacking-for-hire case involving its CIO, two Windows leaks, and a £2.19 headline that renews at £5.83.
The winner
Proton VPN: the VPN we run our own business on
Proton VPN is not the cheapest here and does not have every feature, and it wins anyway, because the thing you are buying from a VPN is a reason to trust the company. Proton's is the best in the field. It is a Swiss company, outside the EU and the Five, Nine and Fourteen Eyes agreements; since June 2024 the non-profit Proton Foundation has been its largest voting shareholder, so there is no private-equity exit and no advertising business waiting to be fed; and every legal order for VPN data from 2020 to 2025 (59 of them in 2025) was denied because there was no stored customer IP data to give. Securitum has audited the no-logs claim every year since 2022, most recently in May 2026, and the reports are public PDFs, not a summary behind a login. The apps are open source.
The product covers what a business needs: WireGuard, the Stealth protocol for hostile networks, Secure Core multi-hop through Proton-owned servers, NetShield blocking, port forwarding, a Linux CLI, ten devices, 20,000-plus servers in 149 countries. Pricing is per account in GBP: VPN Plus at £7.99 month-to-month, £3.59 on one year, £2.79 on two, and Proton prints the renewal beside it (£67.08 a year, or £5.59 a month, a 100% step). Proton Unlimited, which adds Mail, Calendar, Drive and Pass, renews at the same £95.88 it started at, and is the plan we would point a small business to.
Two honest caveats. The consumer plans have no fixed IP and no device-to-device network; both live in Proton VPN for Business, where Professional is $9.99 a user plus a mandatory $39.99-a-month dedicated server that is your fixed IP, London included, with SSO and SCIM. And Trustpilot is 2.2 on 983 invited reviews, 59% one-star, almost all about refunds refused after a missed cancellation and renewal billing. It is a small sample for a company this size, but a consistent one, and Proton's refund is once per user, 30 days, direct purchases only.
In our experience: Proton VPN has been our VPN for just over a year, across the team's devices, and it has been reliable and fast for us. We came to it after more than five years on NordVPN, and chose it for the jurisdiction, the ownership and the audit record as much as the app. Saaskly has an affiliate link for Proton VPN; the verdict came first and the link does not affect the score.
The runner-up
NordVPN: the most capable, with the steepest cliff
NordVPN is the biggest consumer VPN, and for a small team it is the more complete of our two first-party picks. Meshnet joins your own devices into a private encrypted network at no charge; NordVPN announced its retirement on 18 August 2025, reversed itself on 29 September ("Meshnet is not going anywhere") and is open-sourcing the library. Dedicated IP is a paid add-on with UK addresses in London, Edinburgh and Manchester at £61.08 a year. NordLynx has post-quantum key exchange on every platform since May 2025; there are 440-plus UK servers in four cities, Double VPN, obfuscation, an open-source Linux app and 24/7 chat. The no-logs policy has been examined under ISAE 3000 by PwC and then Deloitte every year since 2022, but the reports sit behind a customer login, unlike Proton's and Mullvad's.
Why Proton edges it
Two things separate them. The pricing: Basic is £11.09 month-to-month and £2.59 a month on the "2 years + 3 months" deal, £69.93 for 27 months, ex VAT, and the struck-through figure beside it is the truth, confirmed by the official renewal table: Basic renews at £104.28 a year, £8.69 a month, "in the currency in which the first payment was made". That is a 236% step, the largest in this comparison, and it is the story behind Trustpilot's 12% one-star (4.2 on 50,209 invited reviews). And the posture: a Panama entity, a rented Finnish server breached in 2018 and disclosed nineteen months later, audits you cannot read without an account. Against Proton's Swiss foundation and public PDFs, that is the gap.
In our experience: NordVPN was our VPN for more than five years and it was reliable throughout; it is the more feature-rich of the two, and Meshnet and the UK dedicated IPs are genuinely useful. It is second on the renewal pricing and the trust posture, not the product. Saaskly has an affiliate link for NordVPN; the verdict came first and the link does not affect the score.
The honesty benchmark: Mullvad
Mullvad has charged €5 a month since 2009: one month, one year or one decade, same price, no sales, ever. You do not give it an email address; you generate a sixteen-digit number and pay by card, bank transfer, crypto or cash in an envelope. It is WireGuard only, every server has run from RAM since 2023, it publishes an infrastructure or app audit most years, and when Swedish police arrived at the Gothenburg office in April 2023 with a warrant for customer data they left with nothing, because there was none. It pays no affiliates and says it pays nobody to write about it.
It is third rather than first because it makes no concessions to a business: five devices per account, no fixed IP on principle, no team plan, port forwarding removed in 2023, email-only support in Swedish office hours, London the only UK location. Buy it for yourself, or buy it through Tailscale. Not yet tested by Saaskly.
Full comparison
| # | Platform | Rating | Month-to-month | Longest plan, per month | Renewal, per month | Renewal premium* | Pricing pattern | Type | Jurisdiction | Owner | No-logs audit | Devices | Fixed IP | Device-to-device network | WireGuard | Port forwarding | UK servers | Business plan | SSO | Linux client | Open-source apps | API | MCP server | Trustpilot (reviews)† |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Proton VPN Visit site ↗ | 4.5 | £7.99/mo | £2.79/mo (24-month term) | £5.59/mo | 100% | Intro discount | Privacy VPN | Switzerland | Proton AG (Proton Foundation largest shareholder) | Securitum, 2026 | 10 | Business plans only, UK available | Not offered | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | No | No | 2.2 (983) |
| 2 | NordVPN Visit site ↗ | 4.3 | £11.09/mo | £2.59/mo (27-month term) | £8.69/mo | 236% | Intro discount | Privacy VPN | Panama | Nord Security | Deloitte, 2025 (summary only) | 10 | Paid add-on: £5.09/mo, UK available | Included | ✓ | No | ✓ | No | No | ✓ | No | No | No | 4.2 (50,209) |
| 3 | Mullvad | 4.1 | €5/mo | €5.00/mo | €5.00/mo | 0% | Flat | Privacy VPN | Sweden | Independent | Cure53 / X41 / Assured, 2025 | 5 | Not offered | Not offered | ✓ | No | ✓ | No | No | ✓ | ✓ | No | No | 3.4 (186) |
| 4 | Tailscale | 4.0 | $8/mo | $8.00/mo | $8.00/mo | 0% | Per user | Mesh overlay | United States (contracts); Canada (HQ) | Independent | n/a (no exit servers) | Unlimited | Not offered | Core feature | ✓ | No | No | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | No | 3.7 (23) |
| 5 | Windscribe | 3.8 | $9/mo | $5.75/mo | $5.75/mo | 0% | Flat | Privacy VPN | Canada | Independent | Packetlabs, 2024 | Unlimited | Paid add-on: $2.00/mo, UK available | Not offered | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | No | ✓ | ✓ | No | No | 4.7 (13,286) |
| 6 | Private Internet Access | 3.5 | £9.99/mo | £1.67/mo (39-month term) | £1.81/mo | 8% | Intro discount | Privacy VPN | United States (Colorado) | Kape Technologies | Deloitte, 2025 | Unlimited | Paid add-on: £2.25/mo, UK available | Not offered | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | No | No | ✓ | ✓ | No | No | 4.3 (10,994) |
| 7 | Surfshark | 3.3 | £13.79/mo | £2.19/mo (27-month term) | £6.10/mo | 179% | Intro discount | Privacy VPN | Netherlands (entity); British Virgin Islands (governing law) | Nord Security | Deloitte, 2025 (summary only) | Unlimited | Paid add-on: £2.77/mo, UK available | Not offered | ✓ | No | ✓ | ✓ | No | ✓ | No | No | No | 4.3 (31,182) |
| 8 | NordLayer | 3.2 | $8/mo | $6.40/mo | $6.40/mo | 0% | Per user | Zero-trust access | United States (entity); England and Wales (governing law) | Nord Security | Not audited | 6 | Business plans only: $40.00/mo, UK available | Business plans only | ✓ | No | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | No | No | No | — |
| 9 | Cloudflare WARP / Zero Trust | 3.0 | Free ($7/mo paid tier) | Free | Free | — | Per user | Zero-trust access | United States | Cloudflare, Inc. | Not audited | Unlimited | Business plans only, no UK IP | Included | ✓ | No | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | No | ✓ | No | 1.4 (1,309) |
| 10 | ExpressVPN | 2.7 | £10.99/mo | £2.19/mo (28-month term) | £5.83/mo | 166% | Intro discount | Privacy VPN | British Virgin Islands | Kape Technologies (Unikmind / Teddy Sagi) | KPMG, 2025 | 10 | Paid add-on: £2.99/mo, UK available | Not offered | ✓ | No | ✓ | ✓ | No | ✓ | No | No | No | 4.4 (28,883) |
*Renewal premium: how much more the longest plan costs per month after its introductory term than during it, as a percentage of the intro rate. VPNs advertise the intro rate; you pay the renewal every term after. 0% means the advertised price is the real price. Prices are per month, effective (plan total ÷ months), as shown to a UK visitor on the research date, in the currency the vendor bills UK customers in; see each profile for the VAT basis.
†Trustpilot: uk.trustpilot.com TrustScore and review count on the research date. Three cells are weak signals and are shown for completeness: Cloudflare (1.4) is mostly non-customers blocked by CAPTCHAs on other companies' websites and no review mentions WARP; Tailscale (23 reviews) and Mullvad (186) are tiny unprompted samples. NordLayer has no Trustpilot profile, so its cell is blank.
↗ Affiliate link: Saaskly may earn a commission. It never affects our verdict.
The mesh, and the free one
Tailscale (4.0) is what "mesh" means when it is the whole product rather than a feature. Every device runs an open-source WireGuard client, a coordination server swaps keys and policy, and traffic goes device to device. By default it does not touch your internet traffic at all (it is an overlay, not an anonymity tool), but any device can be an exit node, and a $5-a-month Mullvad add-on for five devices makes it a privacy VPN with Mullvad's network behind it. Pricing is flat and per user: free for up to six users with unlimited devices since April 2026, $8 a user on Standard, $18 on Premium, no intro deals, no refunds. SSO with everything, SCIM from Standard, a policy file, device approval and an API on every plan. There is no fixed public IP, no public audit (Latacora on request, SOC 2 under NDA), the coordination server is closed source, support is email in US hours, and the control plane had a rough run of outages over the 2025–26 winter. Trustpilot is 3.7 on 23 reviews, which tells you nothing. For a team that wants its laptops, NAS and cloud box on one private network with proper identity controls, nothing else here comes close. No affiliate programme.
Cloudflare WARP and Zero Trust (3.0) is free for a team of up to 50, and $7 a user after that: SSO, SCIM, device posture, DNS and HTTP filtering, private-network tunnels, a Linux client and, since April 2026, Cloudflare Mesh for device-to-device traffic with 50 nodes free. We marked it down, for the reason we marked Cloudflare Registrar down. WARP is not a VPN in the sense the rest of this page means: there is no exit-country picker, your traffic leaves from Cloudflare's address, and Cloudflare's privacy policy says it keeps source and destination IPs for up to two years after your last use while promising not to link them to the sites you visit or sell them. The audit people cite examined the 1.1.1.1 DNS resolver only: Cloudflare's own post says "the examination did not cover WARP". The client is closed source, Mesh routes every packet through Cloudflare rather than peer to peer, a fixed IP is an unpriced Enterprise add-on, and support on the free plan is a forum. A free, well-engineered access layer whose privacy model is "trust Cloudflare", a legitimate choice, made knowingly. Trustpilot's 1.4 is CAPTCHA complaints from other sites' visitors and says nothing about WARP. Not yet tested by Saaskly.
The budget pair
Windscribe (3.8) is the independent: founder-owned, no investors, no paid marketing since 2021, and no two-year plan on principle ("we aren't interested in locking you into a multi-year contract just to spike your bill later"). Pro is $9 a month or $69 a year and renews at $69. Unlimited devices on every tier including a 10 GB free one, open-source apps, an always-on firewall instead of a reactive kill switch, port forwarding, and two things a small business wants cheaply and honestly labelled: a London static IP at $2 a month that Windscribe says outright is shared with "a handful of customers", and a $5-a-seat team plan from five seats. Its record is unusually candid: an unencrypted key on two legacy servers seized in Ukraine in 2021, disclosed and fixed within weeks; a Greek criminal case against the founder dismissed in April 2025 because there were no logs to produce. No ISAE-style no-logs audit, no human chat, USD billing, a seven-day refund. Trustpilot 4.7 on 13,286 invited reviews. No affiliate programme.
Private Internet Access (3.5) is the cheapest full-featured VPN here: £1.67 a month over 39 months, £65 up front, and the pricing page says it renews at the same £65. The free months drop off, so the real rate rises 8%, which is nothing next to its rivals. Unlimited devices, fully open-source apps, a Linux CLI, port forwarding, RAM-only servers, UK exits in three cities and a UK dedicated IP at £2.25 a month. Deloitte has examined the no-logs policy three times, latest December 2025 and public, and two US court cases (a 2016 FBI subpoena, a 2018 trial) ended with PIA able to say only that an IP was on the east coast of the United States. Against that: a US company under Colorado law; owned by Kape, the former Crossrider adware business that also owns ExpressVPN and the vpnMentor and Wizcase review sites; no admin console, SSO or team plan at all; and a run of dated Trustpilot one-stars (4.3 on 10,994, not invited) alleging renewal at a different price than promised. Not yet tested by Saaskly.
Surfshark (3.3) is NordVPN's cheaper sister and technically fine: unlimited devices, RAM-only servers, four UK cities, Dynamic MultiHop, Deloitte-audited, a London dedicated IP add-on. It sits below PIA on the pricing. The £2.19-a-month headline is ex VAT (£70.96 at checkout for 27 months), and every long plan renews as a one-year plan "at the full price", £73.24 for the One plan, £6.10 a month, a 179% step; Surfshark's renewal page also reserves the right to A/B-test prices, and we saw two different prices for the same plan the same day. Renewals are excluded from refunds, which is exactly what the one-star reviews are about (4.3 on 31,182 invited, 9% one-star), and a US class action filed in July 2025 alleges the same pattern. Governing law is the British Virgin Islands despite the Dutch entity; the Teams plan is USD-only, quote-based and excludes dedicated IP. No device-to-device feature. Not yet tested by Saaskly.
The business one
NordLayer (3.2) is what Nord sells to companies, and it is a managed-access product, not a privacy VPN: its own privacy policy lists connection timestamps, gateway, origin IP and device hostname as things your admin can see, and the Deloitte no-logs audits belong to NordVPN, not to it. Per-user pricing in USD from $8 (Lite) to $14 (Premium), five users minimum, SSO with Okta, Entra, Google, OneLogin and JumpCloud on every plan, which is rare at this price. The catch is the $40-a-month "Server with Dedicated IP": it is the fixed IP (London and Manchester), the gateway that site-to-site tunnels, the cloud firewall and Cloud LAN (the renamed device-to-device feature, routed through the gateway) all hang off, and most of those are Premium only. A five-person team wanting a UK fixed IP is at $95 a month ex VAT before it starts. No public API, no Trustpilot profile at all, no phone. Not yet tested by Saaskly.
The one we ranked last
ExpressVPN (2.7)
We want to be precise about this, because the VPN itself is good. KPMG has examined ExpressVPN's no-logs policy three times, most recently in 2025, and the report is public; TrustedServer runs everything in RAM; the Lightway protocol has been rewritten in Rust, audited by Cure53 and Praetorian, and open-sourced; there are seven UK locations, 24/7 chat, an own-brand router, and a Dedicated IP add-on from £2.99 a month with a blind-token design and UK addresses. ExpressVPN even prints its renewal price on the pricing page ("then autorenews at £69.95 annually"), which several rivals do not. Trustpilot is 4.4 on 28,883 reviews with 7% one-star.
It is last for everything around that. ExpressVPN is owned by Kape Technologies, which began in 2011 as Crossrider, a browser-extension platform that a 2015 Berkeley and Google study named a major affiliate of ad injectors and that Malwarebytes classed as adware; Kape renamed itself in 2018 because of "the strong association to the past activities of the company", was taken private by Teddy Sagi in 2023, and also owns vpnMentor and Wizcase, two of the most-read VPN review sites, which recommend its brands. On 14 September 2021, the day after Kape's $936 million purchase was announced, the US Department of Justice announced a deferred prosecution agreement with ExpressVPN's chief information officer, Daniel Gericke, over hacking services to the UAE's Project Raven; ExpressVPN said it had known his employment history when it hired him, and kept him. In 2024 the Windows app leaked DNS queries outside the tunnel; in 2025 leftover debug code let remote-desktop traffic bypass it for months. And the pricing runs the standard playbook, ex VAT: £10.99 month-to-month, £2.19 a month for 28 months, then £69.95 a year (£5.83 a month, a 166% step). No port forwarding, no device-to-device network, no SSO on the Teams plan, closed-source apps. None of this makes ExpressVPN a bad VPN. It makes it the one of these ten whose owners, conduct and pricing we trust least, and the ranking says so. Not yet tested by Saaskly; Saaskly has no commercial relationship with ExpressVPN.
Bottom line
- Buy the renewal, not the poster. The same "£2 a month" VPN renews at £5.59 (Proton), £5.83 (ExpressVPN), £6.10 (Surfshark) and £8.69 (NordVPN). Mullvad, Windscribe, Tailscale, PIA and Cloudflare renew at what they said.
- Proton VPN is the one we use and recommend: the best reason to trust a VPN company in the field, and a product that covers what a business needs. Take Proton Unlimited if you want mail and storage on the same bill.
- NordVPN is the pick when the team needs Meshnet and a UK fixed IP on consumer terms, if you go in knowing the renewal is £104 a year.
- Mullvad for anyone who wants the purest privacy product and no relationship with the vendor; Tailscale for a team that wants its own devices on one private network with real identity controls; Windscribe for a flat price with a cheap London IP.
- Cloudflare's free tier is genuinely free and genuinely useful, and you should use it knowing Cloudflare sees the traffic and no audit has looked at WARP.
- ExpressVPN is last. We have said why, from the public record, and the score reflects it.
Prices checked 7 September 2026 on each provider's UK-facing pages, in the currency shown to a UK visitor: GBP for Proton VPN (VAT basis not stated), Surfshark and ExpressVPN (ex VAT), Private Internet Access (VAT basis not stated) and NordVPN (ex VAT, read in a UK browser because its site blocks automated reading); USD for Windscribe, Tailscale, Cloudflare and NordLayer; EUR for Mullvad. Two of the ten (Proton VPN, NordVPN) are first-party assessments from our own use; the rest are desk research and are labelled "Not yet tested".
Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI