Saaskly

Lambda

GPU cloud for AI training and inference, with H100 and B200 nodes, InfiniBand clusters and one European region, booked self-serve and billed by the minute.

GPU & High Performance ComputeHow we test
3.0
Saaskly score / 5
9th of 12 in GPU & High Performance Compute

Who owns it

Lambda sells GPU capacity for AI training and inference from the United States, and a UK or EU buyer contracts with the US company under US law. The public record on the company itself is thinner than its size would suggest. Lambda's own about page gives a founding date of 2012 and an origin at Noisebridge in San Francisco, but it names no founders, no legal entity and no registered address. The funding is better documented: a $480m Series D announced on 19 February 2025, co-led by Andra Capital and SGW with NVIDIA among the investors, at a $2.5bn post-money valuation, then more than $1.5bn in a Series E led by TWG Global in November 2025, taking the total raised to roughly $2.3bn. NVIDIA holding a stake in a company that rents out NVIDIA hardware is worth knowing when you are weighing up who gets allocation when supply is short. A listing has been reported for the second half of 2026 with Morgan Stanley, JPMorgan and Citi engaged, but no S-1 was public on 22 September 2026. Lambda buys and runs its own GPUs and puts them in other companies' buildings, including Aligned's DFW-04 in Dallas-Fort Worth, EdgeConneX in Chicago, LAX01 in Vernon, California and a new site in Kansas City. It is not a marketplace: no third-party host is renting you their machine.

## What it costs

Prices are in US dollars, VAT not stated, read 22 September 2026. Lambda charges per GPU per hour, and the rate goes up as you take fewer GPUs, which is the opposite of what most buyers expect. One H100 SXM 80 GB costs $4.29 an hour, or $3,132 a month at 730 hours. Take the whole eight-GPU node and the same GPU costs $3.99 an hour, so the node is $31.92 an hour and each GPU works out at $2,913 a month. Two and four GPU configurations sit in between at $4.19 and $4.09. An H100 PCIe is $3.29 an hour. The cheapest GPU on the list is a Quadro RTX 6000 24 GB at $0.69 an hour, about $504 a month, and a GH200 is $2.29. No H200 appears on the public price list at all, despite the pricing page's own marketing copy mentioning it. There is no spot, preemptible or interruptible tier, so there is no cheap way to buy compute you are willing to lose. Reserved pricing for a single on-demand instance is sales only: no rate, no term and no discount figure is published.

The one published committed option is a 1-Click Cluster, and the arithmetic is counterintuitive. Sixteen H100s cost $6.16 per GPU-hour on a term of two weeks to a year, falling to $5.85 at 64 GPUs and $5.54 at 256. All three are higher than the $3.99 on-demand rate for an eight-GPU node, so a cluster buys InfiniBand and guaranteed capacity rather than a discount. The smallest cluster you can book is 16 GPUs for two weeks, roughly $33,100 paid up front, which puts it out of reach for most small teams. Storage is billed separately and keeps running after the instance has gone: the documentation gives $0.20 per GiB a month as an example and shows the real rate when you create the filesystem, so a 2 TB filesystem left behind costs around $400 a month. Ingress and egress are free and stated as such. On-demand instances bill in one-minute increments and are invoiced weekly in arrears, while clusters bill weekly and are paid in advance. Instances are billed for as long as they are running whether or not they are being used, and no stop-and-keep-the-disk state is documented, so the practical choice is to terminate or keep paying the full rate. The smallest realistic monthly bill for a small team is a Quadro RTX 6000 at $503.70 plus a 500 GB filesystem at about $100, so roughly $604 a month with no transfer charges on top.

## What you get and what to watch

Signup is self-serve, but the card rules stop some buyers at the door. Lambda accepts major credit cards only, and prepaid and debit cards are not supported, which rules out a lot of UK sole traders and small agencies working from a business debit card or a virtual card. A $10 pre-authorisation is taken to check the card and refunded within a few days. Purchases are supported from 18 countries including the UK and the EU, with Lithuania excluded, and transactions attempted over a VPN are flagged as suspicious and may be declined. No new-account GPU quota is published, and the only documented limits are on storage: 24 filesystems per account, capped at 10 TB each in the Texas us-south-1 region. There is no free tier and no signup credit for general users. One secondary account describes manual review of new accounts taking around three days, which Lambda's own documentation does not confirm.

Fourteen regions are listed and nine of them are in the United States. There is one EU region, europe-central-1 in Germany, and the city is not published. There is no UK region and no UK or EU contracting entity, so the most a UK buyer gets is EU data residency under a US contract. Lambda does not publish which GPUs run in which region, which matters more than usual when your only European option is a single site. The platform sells one, two, four and eight GPU instances, 1-Click Clusters from 16 GPUs upwards with NVIDIA Quantum-2 InfiniBand and SHARP, and managed Kubernetes or Slurm on those clusters. Managed Kubernetes is not available on a single on-demand instance. Persistent filesystems can only be attached when an instance is launched, not to one already running. There is a public Cloud API, but the documentation page would not render on 22 September 2026, so endpoints, authentication and rate limits could not be checked. No official Terraform provider, command line tool or MCP server was found.

Compliance is the strongest part of the published record: SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27701, ISO 22301 and CCPA, with a trust portal at trust.lambda.ai for evidence requests. GDPR, a public data processing agreement and the CLOUD Act are not addressed on the trust page. Support runs through a portal at support.lambda.ai, with 24/7 monitoring and dedicated escalation channels described for enterprise customers. No uptime percentage and no service credit schedule is published for the self-serve product, and no status page was found, so a card-paying customer has no published uptime commitment to hold Lambda to. Trustpilot shows 2.6 from four unprompted reviews, every one of them a single star. The themes are narrow and recent: an account banned over a payment issue with data and models removed (30 January 2026), an account auto-suspended over a payment problem with persistent storage destroyed alongside the instances (18 January 2026), a card charged as soon as the details were entered, which may be the documented $10 pre-authorisation (9 December 2025), and support unable to close an account (30 November 2025). Four reviews is far too thin to draw a conclusion from, but nothing in Lambda's documentation says what happens to your data when an account is suspended, which is exactly what two of them describe. No outage, breach, regulator action or lawsuit was found on the public record.

Not yet tested by Saaskly. Assessed on published pricing, vendor documentation, company filings, the vendor's own status and trust pages, and third-party reviews.

  • +Compliance is attested rather than promised: SOC 2 Type II plus ISO 27001, 27017, 27701 and 22301, with an evidence portal at trust.lambda.ai.
  • +Taking a whole eight-GPU H100 node drops the rate to $3.99 per GPU-hour, $2,913 a month per GPU, against $4.29 an hour for a single card.
  • +Ingress and egress are free, and on-demand instances bill per minute and are invoiced weekly in arrears rather than from prepaid credit.

Cons

  • −Prepaid and debit cards are not accepted. Lambda takes major credit cards only, which blocks signup for buyers working from a business debit card or a virtual card.
  • −There is no stop state. Instances bill for as long as they are running whether or not they are in use, and filesystems keep billing once the instance is gone, at an example rate of $0.20 per GiB a month.
  • −No uptime percentage or service credit schedule is published for the self-serve product, and no public status page was found.
  • −One EU region, europe-central-1 in Germany, no UK region, no UK or EU contracting entity, and neither an H200 nor a spot tier on the public price list.

Pricing

Minimum commitment: $3,132 ($3,132/mo × 1 seat × 1 month (no commitment)). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

H100 SXM 80 GB, one GPU

$3,132/mo · no commitment

  • ✓One H100 SXM 80 GB at $4.29 an hour, $3,132 a month at 730 hours. A whole eight-GPU node is $3.99 per GPU-hour ($31.92 an hour, $2,913 a month per GPU). Reserved pricing is sales only, no rate or term published. USD, VAT not stated, read 22 Sep 2026.

Quadro RTX 6000 24 GB, one GPU

$504/mo · no commitment

  • ✓One Quadro RTX 6000 24 GB at $0.69 an hour, $504 a month at 730 hours. Filesystem storage about $0.20 per GiB-month billed separately and after the instance is gone, egress and ingress free. Read 22 Sep 2026.

Specifications

Rating
3.0
Pricing and plans
Committed H100Sales only
Cheapest dedicated serverNone
BillingPer minute
EgressIncluded
Committed pricingSales only
Free creditNone found
Features
H100 per GPU-hour*$4.29/h (NVIDIA H100 SXM 80 GB)
Cheapest GPU$0.69/h (NVIDIA Quadro RTX 6000 24 GB)
8xH100 node$31.92/h
Spot / interruptibleNo
Storage (per GB/mo)$0.200
Self-serve signup✓
GPU quotaNone
UK locationNo
H100 in the UKNo
EU locations1
Locations14
Cluster networking✓
Kubernetes✓
Slurm✓
Bare metalNo
Stopped instance billed✓
Sales-only aboveReserved capacity and cluster terms beyond one year
NVIDIA GPUs✓
AMD GPUsNo
Multi-GPU nodes✓
Dedicated serversNo
Object storage✓
Block storageNo
Private networkingNo
Integrations and developers
API✓
TerraformNo
MCP serverNo
CLINo
Ownership and trust
Hardware**Own hardware, colocated
Owned inUS-owned
OwnerIndependent
Trustpilot (reviews)2.6 (4)
HQUS
Publicly listedNo
Sovereign offeringNone
ISO 27001✓
SOC 2✓
2FANo
Support
Phone supportNo
Support channelsTicket, Email

* One NVIDIA H100 80 GB per GPU-hour, on demand, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor; where the vendor sells no H100 the nearest GPU is named. Committed prices are the cheapest published rate and its minimum term.

** Who owns and runs the GPUs. "Third-party hosts" means the vendor is a marketplace for other people's machines and the SLA is theirs, not the vendor's.

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at Lambda? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.