Saaskly

HubSpot

The CRM we pick after a decade of client work: sales, marketing, service and content in one platform, with a free tier that is genuinely usable, two MCP servers, and the most transparent price ratchet in the category, from a £7 Starter seat to the £77 Professional seat you will actually need, plus a mandatory £1,310 onboarding fee and a renewal clause that lets the price rise to list.

How we test
4.4/5
Saaskly score

HubSpot (HubSpot, Inc., Cambridge, Massachusetts, NYSE-listed, founded 2006, European headquarters in Dublin since 2013) is the platform that comes closest to running a small business's entire customer relationship in one place. The Smart CRM underneath is free for up to two users with contacts, deals, one pipeline, email tracking, meeting links, quotes, live chat and the Breeze AI assistant. On top of it sit Sales Hub, Marketing Hub, Service Hub and Content Hub, sold separately or as a bundle, and all of them write to the same contact record. That is the reason to choose it: a lead captured by a marketing form, worked through a sales pipeline and handed to support never leaves the system, and the reporting sees all of it. Add a remote MCP server at mcp.hubspot.com with read and write access to every core object, a second developer MCP server, over 2,000 marketplace apps and an EU data centre in Frankfurt (opened 19 July 2021, selectable on paid accounts), and you have the most complete platform in this comparison for a company that does not have Salesforce money.

The price is where you need to read carefully, because HubSpot's pricing is built to start small and grow. Prices in GBP as shown to a UK visitor on 8 September 2026 (VAT basis not stated on the page). Sales Hub Starter is £7 a seat a month on annual commitment as a limited-time new-customer offer, or £18 a seat paid monthly. It has no sequences, no forecasting, no custom reporting, two pipelines and basic automation only. The features a sales team of ten actually uses (sequences, up to 300 workflows, forecasting, 100 custom reports, playbooks, deal-stage automation, 15 pipelines) sit in Sales Hub Professional at £77 a seat a month on annual commitment or £85 paid monthly, and Professional carries a required one-time onboarding fee of £1,310 (Enterprise: £135 a seat, £3,050 onboarding). Marketing Hub Professional is not priced per seat at all: it starts at £702 a month on annual commitment (£780 monthly) with three core seats bundled, extra seats from £40, 2,000 marketing contacts included, contact tiers above that, and a £2,600 onboarding fee. AI features draw on HubSpot Credits (3,000 a month on Professional, £8.10 per 1,000 after that). HubSpot removed seat minimums for Sales Hub in March 2024 when it moved to seat-based pricing. Then the clause that matters at year two, section 3.2 of the Customer Terms of Service, "Fee Adjustments at Renewal": "Upon renewal, we may increase your Subscription Fees up to our then-current list price", with 30 days' notice. Subscriptions auto-renew for the shorter of the prior term or one year unless auto-renewal is switched off. A ten-seat Sales Hub Professional team is therefore £9,240 a year on annual commitment plus £1,310 in year one, before marketing contacts, credits or calling minutes.

Trustpilot is the weak spot on the public record: 1.5 on 1,164 reviews (51% one-star, no recent history of asking for reviews), and the one-star themes from August and September 2026 are auto-renewal charges after cancellation requests, sales guidance that did not match what was bought, onboarding cost surprises and a deleted account within a notice period. G2 (4.4 on 35,912 reviews) and Capterra (4.5 on 670-plus) tell the opposite story, which is the usual pattern for a product whose users like it and whose ex-customers dislike the billing. The other item on the record is a June 2024 security incident in which fewer than 30 customer portals were accessed; HubSpot disclosed it, contained it within five days and closed the investigation on 12 July 2024. SOC 2 Type II, SSO, enforced two-factor authentication and field-level audit logging are all present.

In our experience: we have worked with HubSpot across many client organisations over the past decade, supporting thousands of seats in total, and it is the CRM we pick. The reason is the one above: sales, marketing and the rest of the customer record live in one system, and it does that job reliably. It is expensive, like most CRMs, and the price you start on is not the price you finish on, which is why this profile spends so long on the pricing. Saaskly has an affiliate link for HubSpot; the verdict came first and the link does not affect the score.

Cons

  • The £7 seat is not the seat you will use: Professional is £77 a seat plus a required £1,310 onboarding fee, and Marketing Hub Professional starts at £702 a month
  • Terms allow fees to rise to the then-current list price at every renewal, on 30 days' notice
  • Trustpilot 1.5 (1,164 reviews), dominated by billing and auto-renewal complaints

Pricing

Minimum commitment: £84 (£7/mo × 1 seat × 12 months). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

Sales Hub Starter

£18/mo · month-to-month

£7/mo on an annual commitment

Month-to-month costs 157% more

  • Per seat. £7 on annual commitment is a limited-time new-customer offer shown on the UK page 8 Sep 2026, £18 paid monthly; VAT basis not stated. No sequences, forecasting or custom reports; 2 pipelines; 500 HubSpot Credits. Free CRM for 2 users underneath.

Sales Hub Professional

£85/mo · month-to-month

£77/mo on an annual commitment

Month-to-month costs 10% more

  • The tier a sales team needs: sequences, 300 workflows, forecasting, 100 custom reports, playbooks, 15 pipelines, 3,000 credits. Required one-time onboarding £1,310. Enterprise from £135 a seat plus £3,050 onboarding. Marketing Hub Professional from £702/mo with 3 seats (£780 monthly), 2,000 marketing contacts, £2,600 onboarding.

Specifications

Rating
4.4
Month-to-month (entry plan)£18/mo
Annual commit, per month£7/mo
Monthly premium157%
Real tier, per user*£77/user/mo (Sales Hub Professional)
Real tier, month-to-month£85/user/mo
Seat minimum (real tier)None
Onboarding fee£1,310
Renewal terms**Increase allowed, uncapped
Pricing patternEntry tier, then a cliff
Free tierUsable free plan
How you get liveSelf-serve + paid onboarding
Built forSmall business (10 to 50)
OwnerIndependent
Marketing automation
Email marketing built in
Quotes & invoicing
Built-in phone
AI assistant
API
MCP server
SSO
EU data residency
UK data residencyNo
Open sourceNo
Trustpilot (reviews)1.5 (1,164)
Real tier, monthly premium10%
Renewal clauseCustomer Terms s.3.2: fees may rise to the then-current list price at renewal, 30 days' notice
Free trial (days)14
Contact-based pricing
HQUS
Publicly listed
Email sequences
Gmail / Outlook sync
Workflow automation
Custom objects
Custom reporting
Mobile app
2FA
Self-hostableNo
Phone support
Support channelsEmail, Phone (Professional and above), Live chat (Enterprise) +1
Commitment for annual rate (months)12

*Real tier: the plan a 10-seat business with a pipeline, email sequences, basic automation and reporting actually needs, because CRM entry tiers are deliberately thin. Prices are per user per month on annual commitment, as shown to a UK visitor on the research date, in the currency the vendor bills UK customers in; see each profile for the VAT basis and for what the entry tier leaves out.

**Renewal terms: what the vendor's published customer terms allow it to do to your price when an annual contract renews. "Fixed" means the terms contain no uplift clause; "capped" means an increase is allowed up to a stated percentage; "uncapped" means the vendor may set a new price on notice. Read with the profile, which quotes the clause.

Ready to try HubSpot?

Affiliate link: Saaskly may earn a commission. It never affects our verdict.

Visit HubSpot

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at HubSpot? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.