Saaskly
WordPress.com logo

WordPress.com

Still simple to run but with far more room to grow than Squarespace, a full export if you ever leave, and an owner having a difficult year.

CMS & Website BuildersHow we test
4.0
Saaskly score / 5
=1st of 12 in CMS & Website Builders

Who owns it

WordPress.com is run by Automattic, the private San Francisco company Matt Mullenweg founded in 2005, which also controls the WordPress.org trademark, plugin directory and update servers that every self-hosted WordPress site depends on. That dual role is the root of the dispute we describe below. We found no Russian or Chinese link in ownership or engineering. There is no UK entity, but UK visitors see pounds.

What it costs

Prices were read in a UK browser on 16 September 2026; the page does not state whether VAT is included, and we record them as shown. Business is the plan we score, because Premium below it does not allow plugins, themes or SFTP: £20 a month in the first year, then it auto-renews at £29 a month on annual billing, or £32 a month billed monthly, a 10 percent premium. Personal is £3 then £5 (£8 monthly), Premium £7 then £12 (£17 monthly), Commerce £36 then £51 (£55 monthly) with WooCommerce built in and no platform transaction fee. Two and three-year terms discount further. Every paid plan includes a custom domain free for the first year, removes ads, and has unlimited pages, posts and users; the Free plan shows WordPress.com ads on a subdomain. There is no card trial; Automattic relies on a refund window instead.

What you get and what to watch

The editor is the block editor, section and pattern based rather than free-form, with a guided AI builder on every paid plan and an AI assistant on Business. Business adds 50 GB, staging, SFTP and SSH, WP-CLI, GitHub deployments, real-time backups and 24/7 priority support by chat and email; there is no phone support. Forms are the Jetpack form block with Akismet spam filtering, roles are WordPress's native five, multilingual is a plugin, and the SEO controls are what WordPress gives you plus Yoast or equivalent once plugins are on. WordPress.com also carries a real MCP implementation: WordPress.org's Abilities API and MCP Adapter shipped in February 2026 and the Agent Abilities for MCP plugin exposes 179 governed abilities on paid plans. Export is a WXR file of posts, pages, comments and taxonomy with media links, importable into any WordPress; Business and Commerce can take full backups too. Trustpilot is 3.7 on 4,151 reviews, some invited, with September 2026 one-star themes about AI features making unwanted changes and chat support replaced by AI.

The conduct record is why WordPress.com shares first place rather than taking it outright. In September 2024 Mullenweg called WP Engine "a cancer to WordPress" and blocked its access to WordPress.org; WP Engine sued in October; on 10 December 2024 a federal judge granted a preliminary injunction ordering access restored and the takeover of the Advanced Custom Fields plugin listing reversed. In January 2025 Automattic cut its WordPress core contribution from about 2,560 hours a week to 45, in April 2025 it laid off about 16 percent of staff, and in May 2025 it announced a return to core. The case was still in motions in mid-2026 with trial expected late 2026 or 2027. Then on 9 September 2026 Automattic's board placed Mullenweg on leave and named an interim chief executive; by 12 September he was back with the board's support and by 14 September most of the board had gone. None of that changes what a Business plan does today. It does bear on who you are relying on.

Not yet tested by Saaskly: assessed on published pricing, vendor documentation, the vendor's own help centre and status pages, and third-party reviews.

  • +The whole WordPress ecosystem on the Business plan: 60,000 plugins, any theme, staging, SFTP and SSH, real-time backups, unlimited users and pages
  • +Full WXR export that any WordPress host can import, and an official MCP adapter so agents can act on the site under governed permissions
  • +Renewal and monthly prices both stated on the page: £29 on annual billing, £32 billed monthly, a 10 percent premium

Cons

  • −Automattic's conduct: the WP Engine litigation and injunction, the 2025 cut in core contributions and layoffs, and the September 2026 boardroom turmoil around its founder
  • −The page does not say whether VAT is included, the first-year price is 31 percent below the renewal, and there is no phone support
  • −The block editor is less free-form than Wix or Squarespace, multilingual needs a plugin, and recent one-star reviews cite AI features changing sites unasked

Pricing

Minimum commitment: £29 (£29/mo × 1 seat × 1 months). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

Business

£32/mo · month-to-month

£29/mo on an annual commitment

Month-to-month costs 10% more

  • ✓£20 a month in year one, auto-renews at £29 a month on annual billing; £32 billed monthly (read 16 Sep 2026, VAT basis not stated). 50 GB, plugins and themes, staging, SFTP/SSH, WP-CLI, real-time backups, 24/7 priority chat and email support, AI assistant, free domain first year. Two and three-year terms discount further.

Commerce

£55/mo · month-to-month

£51/mo on an annual commitment

Month-to-month costs 8% more

  • ✓£36 in year one, renews at £51 on annual billing; £55 monthly. Adds WooCommerce with no platform transaction fee, store themes, 135 currencies. Below Business: Premium £7 then £12 (£17 monthly) without plugins; Personal £3 then £5 (£8 monthly); Free with ads on a subdomain.

Specifications

Rating
4.0
Pricing and plans
Scored plan*£29/mo annual · £32/mo monthly (Business)
Month-to-month£32/mo (+10%)
Free planLimited free plan
Scored plan nameBusiness
VAT basisExcluding VAT
LicenceSubscription (WordPress itself is GPL)
Free trial (days)0
Entry plan£5/mo (Personal)
Top plan£51/mo (Commerce)
First-term promotionBusiness £20 a month in year one, auto-renews at £29; every paid plan carries a first-year discount of 34 to 62 percent. VAT basis not stated on the page
Monthly price only at checkoutNo
Domain free first year✓
Domain renewalFree first year; renewal price page not reachable on the research date
Editor seatsUnlimited
Storage and bandwidthBusiness 50 GB plus 250 GB VideoPress; bandwidth not metered
Price changesNot captured beyond the multi-year discount structure
UK VAT handlingNo
Features
ShapeHosted WordPress
Visual editor✓
Custom codeFull theme code
Blog✓
Forms✓
CommerceAdd-on or higher plan
MembershipsIncluded
MultilingualPaid add-on
SEO controlsFull
UK or EU hostingNo
Vendor hosting✓
Page and item limitsUnlimited pages and posts
EditorBlock editor with patterns; section-based, not free-form
Switch template after launch✓
Form submissionsJetpack forms; no published cap
Scheduling✓
Roles and approvals✓
BookingsNo
AI site generator✓
AI content tools✓
Accessibility toolingNo
Redirects✓
Structured data control✓
Image optimisation✓
CDN included✓
Injected scriptsNone confirmed on Business
PerformanceNot measured
Payment providersPayment buttons via Stripe and PayPal on Premium and above; WooCommerce on Commerce
Domain transfer outNot captured
Integrations and developers
API✓
Headless✓
MCP server✓
Export your siteFull
Open source✓
Self-hostable✓
WebhooksNo
MCP server noteWordPress.org Abilities API and MCP Adapter (February 2026); Agent Abilities for MCP plugin, 179 abilities, paid plans
CRM integrationsJetpack CRM built in; HubSpot and others via plugins
Zapier or Make✓
App market60,000 plugins from the WordPress.org directory on Business and above
Export noteWXR export of posts, pages, comments and taxonomy with media links on every plan; full backups on Business and Commerce
Import toolingImporters for WordPress, Blogger, Squarespace, Wix and others
Ownership and trust
Owned in**US-owned
Russian or Chinese linkNone found
Trustpilot (reviews)3.7 (4,151)
HQUS
OwnerAutomattic (private)
Founded2005
Data locationAutomattic infrastructure; regions not published
Link evidenceNone found
GovernanceAutomattic controls WordPress.org; WP Engine litigation and December 2024 injunction; 2025 core-contribution cut and layoffs; founder placed on leave and reinstated, September 2026
GDPR toolingNo
SOC 2No
ISO 27001No
Status page✓
Major incident on recordNo
Incident noteNo WordPress.com outage confirmed with a date; the governance record is on the profile
Security updatesCore kept current by WordPress.com; plugin updates optional automation; daily Jetpack scan
Support
Phone supportNo
Live chat✓
UK support hours24/7 priority chat and email on Business; no phone
CommunityThe largest CMS ecosystem; agencies and freelancers everywhere
Support channelsLive chat, Email, Help centre +1

*Scored plan: the business plan the score is set on (the cheapest plan with a custom domain and no vendor branding, contact forms, basic SEO controls and room for a fifty-page site; for a managed WordPress host, one production site with staging and daily backups), per month on annual billing at the renewal price, then per month billed monthly where that is offered, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date. Developer CMSs show the licence plus a stated reference hosting cost. See each profile for the VAT basis, first-term promotions and what the plan above adds.

**Owned in: where the company that owns the vendor answers to. A US-owned vendor is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the site is hosted. "Russian or Chinese link" records ownership, management or engineering links found on the research date, with the evidence on the profile; Saaskly marks these down in the score by editorial rule and says so.

Ready to try WordPress.com?

Affiliate link: Saaskly may earn a commission. It never affects our verdict.

Visit WordPress.com ↗

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at WordPress.com? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.