Saaskly

Kaspersky Next EDR Foundations

Last, for the reason stated first: founded and run from Moscow, banned in the United States and warned against by the NCSC and Germany's BSI, however well the labs rate it.

Antivirus & Endpoint SecurityHow we test
2.0
Saaskly score / 5
13th of 13 in Antivirus & Endpoint Security

Who owns it

Kaspersky was founded in Moscow in 1997 by Eugene and Natalya Kaspersky, Alexey De-Monderik and Vadim Bogdanov; the operating company is AO Kaspersky Lab and the brand dropped "Lab" in 2019. It calls Zurich its European headquarters and says it processes European threat data in two Swiss data centres under its Global Transparency Initiative, claims we record but could not see independently audited. The UK picture from Companies House, read on 9 September 2026: the original Kaspersky Lab UK Limited (1998) is in liquidation with overdue filings; the active company is Kaspersky Labs Limited (2001, originally registered as Decoradvice Limited), whose person with significant control is Evgeny Kaspersky, nationality Russian, resident in Russia, with 75 per cent or more of the shares and votes. Then the government record. The US Department of Commerce issued its Final Determination on 20 June 2024 prohibiting Kaspersky from selling to US persons from 20 July 2024 and from providing updates from 29 September 2024, saying the Russian government "has proven that it has the capability and intent to exploit Russian companies like Kaspersky"; a million US consumers were switched to UltraAV. The NCSC advised UK government departments in December 2017 to avoid Russia-based antivirus on systems handling secret information and, on 29 March 2022, told organisations serving Ukraine, running critical infrastructure or working against Russian interests to reconsider the risk of Russian technology while saying consumer use remained safe for now. Germany's BSI formally warned against Kaspersky products on 15 March 2022 and recommended replacing them; Italy restricted public-sector use the same month; Australia banned it from government systems in 2025. Saaskly's rule is that a security vendor with Russian ownership, management or engineering is marked down hard with the evidence stated, and Kaspersky is why the rule exists.

What it costs

The product, judged on its own, is good and cheap. Prices are in pounds, read live on 9 September 2026 in the calculator on kaspersky.co.uk; VAT basis is not stated. Kaspersky Next EDR Foundations, the plan we score, was £775.00 for 25 users on a one-year term with a 15 per cent introductory discount, which is £31.00 a user a year, and each user licence covers a desktop or a file server plus two mobiles from the same pool, so servers cost nothing extra. Kaspersky Next EDR Optimum was £1,587.50 (£63.50 a user, 10 per cent off) with deeper EDR and Microsoft 365 protection bundled; XDR Optimum, MXDR Optimum and the Expert tiers are quote-only, and Kaspersky Managed Detection and Response has no small-business price. Three-year terms are discounted. There is card checkout and a "buy via partner" link side by side, a 30-day trial, a 30-day money-back guarantee and auto-renewal stated under the price. Kaspersky Small Office Security is cheaper but has no console. The old Kaspersky Endpoint Security Cloud name has gone from the UK site.

What you get and what to watch

Basic EDR is in Foundations, with anti-ransomware, web threat protection, device control, patch management, encryption management, vulnerability scanning and application control listed as common Next features, mobile protection for Android and iOS in the licence pool, and Windows Server versions from 2008 R2 to 2022 supported by the underlying Windows agent. The Pro View cloud console is the management surface; whether it can be pinned to a UK or EU region is not stated. An MSP programme exists; RMM integrations, API and SSO were not confirmed and no MCP server was found. Standard support is free, with an MSA-based Extended tier for 24/7 priority. Kaspersky says its own Next customers need an IT specialist for about 15 minutes a week.

The labs rate it highly: Approved in AV-Comparatives' H1 2026 business test, 6/6/6 at AV-TEST in April 2026, four SE Labs awards in 2026 with AAA and 100 per cent protection and legitimate accuracy in Q4 2025 and Q1 2026. It has not taken part in a MITRE ATT&CK Enterprise evaluation since round two in 2019. The Wall Street Journal reported in October 2017 that Russian hackers had used Kaspersky software to find classified NSA material on a contractor's home computer, which Kaspersky denied. Trustpilot's UK profile is closed to new reviews, with 13,204 historical ones and no current score. Not yet tested by Saaskly: assessed on published pricing, the independent test labs, vendor documentation and third-party reviews.

  • +The cheapest EDR here at £31 a user a year, with servers and two mobiles in the same licence and card checkout
  • +The labs rate it highly: AV-Comparatives Approved (H1 2026), AV-TEST 6/6/6 (April 2026), SE Labs AAA with 100 per cent protection and legitimate accuracy
  • +Patching, encryption management, vulnerability scanning and application control in the standard feature set; free standard support

Cons

  • −Russian-founded, Moscow-run, 75 per cent or more owned by Eugene Kaspersky per Companies House; banned from sale in the United States since 20 July 2024 with updates cut off from 29 September 2024
  • −NCSC guidance against it for sensitive systems (2017) and for organisations exposed to Russia (2022); German BSI warning since March 2022; the older UK company is in liquidation
  • −No MITRE evaluation since 2019; the Swiss transparency claims are Kaspersky's own; Trustpilot UK profile closed; console region choice not stated

Pricing

Minimum commitment: £31 (£31/yr for the entry licence). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

Kaspersky Next EDR Foundations

£31/yr · annual commitment

Month-to-month: not published

  • ✓£31.00 per user per year (£775.00 for 25 users) with a 15% introductory discount, read live 9 Sep 2026; VAT basis not stated. Each user licence covers a desktop or file server plus two mobiles. Basic EDR included. Card checkout or via partner, up to 99 devices; 30-day trial; auto-renewal. 3-year term £595.83 a year for 25.

Kaspersky Next EDR Optimum

£63.50/yr · annual commitment

Month-to-month: not published

  • ✓£63.50 per user per year (£1,587.50 for 25) with 10% off; essential EDR, Microsoft 365 protection bundled, IT security training. XDR Optimum, MXDR Optimum, EDR Expert and XDR Expert quote-only; Managed Detection and Response no published price.

Specifications

Rating
2.0
Pricing and plans
Scored tier*£31/device/yr (Kaspersky Next EDR Foundations)
Monthly billingAnnual only
Entry planScored tier is the entry plan
Seats5 to 99
ServersIncluded
Self-service portal✓
Scored tier nameKaspersky Next EDR Foundations
VAT basisExcluding VAT
Top plan£63.50/device/yr (Kaspersky Next EDR Optimum)
EDR tier or add-onBasic EDR on Foundations; essential EDR on Optimum (£63.50); Expert tiers quote-only
Monthly billing availableNo
Free trial (days)30
Price changes15% introductory discount on Foundations and 10% on Optimum on 9 Sep 2026; auto-renewal stated; no dated UK price change found
Features
EDRIncluded
MDRAdd-on, quote
Buy online✓
AV-ComparativesH1 2026 Business Security Test: Approved
AV-TESTApril 2026 business Windows: 6/6/6 (Kaspersky Endpoint Security 12.x)
SE LabsAAA, 100% protection and legitimate accuracy, Q4 2025 and Q1 2026; four SE Labs awards 2026
MITRE evaluated✓
Ransomware rollbackNo
Web filtering✓
Email securityPaid add-on
PatchingIncluded
Device control✓
PlatformsWindows · Mac · Server
Cloud console✓
How you buyCard checkout on kaspersky.co.uk or "buy via our partner", up to 99 devices; MSP programme
Test record noteMITRE participation was round 2 (2019) only
Behavioural detection✓
Exploit preventionNo
Firewall managementNo
Vulnerability scanning✓
Application control✓
Mobile threat defence✓
iOS✓
Android✓
Platform notesWindows Server 2008 R2 to 2022 via the Windows agent, licensed from the user pool; macOS listed for Foundations, not shown for Optimum on the comparison page; Linux not confirmed at this tier
On-premises console option✓
DeploymentCloud console (Pro View) or on-site deployment
Multi-tenant console✓
Integrations and developers
RMM integrationsNot confirmed
APINo
MCP serverNo
SIEM exportNo
SSO into consoleNo
Ownership and trust
Owned in**Russia-owned
Russian or Chinese linkCurrent
Disk encryption management✓
Console data locationEuropean threat data processed in Zurich (Kaspersky statement); console region choice not stated
HQRussia (Moscow); European HQ Zurich
OwnerEugene Kaspersky, 75% or more (Companies House PSC, 2016)
Engineering locationsMoscow-centred; countries not published
Link evidenceFounded Moscow 1997; AO Kaspersky Lab; Companies House PSC Evgeny Kaspersky, Russian, resident in Russia, 75%+ of Kaspersky Labs Limited; Kaspersky Lab UK Limited in liquidation
Government actionUS BIS Final Determination 20 June 2024: sales ban 20 July 2024, updates ban 29 September 2024; NCSC guidance Dec 2017 and 29 March 2022; German BSI warning 15 March 2022; Italy public sector March 2022; Australia government ban 2025
SOC 2No
ISO 27001No
Cyber EssentialsNo
Major incident on record✓
Incident noteWSJ, October 2017: Russian hackers used Kaspersky software to identify classified NSA material on a contractor's home PC (denied by Kaspersky); US ban 2024
Support
Phone supportNo
Live chatNo
UK support hoursStandard support free; Extended (MSA) support 24/7 with a technical account manager, paid
Paid support tierExtended Support, MSA contract, price not published
Support channelsSupport portal, Email

*Scored tier: the business tier the score is set on (the cheapest plan with a cloud console covering Windows, macOS and Windows Server), per device per year on a one-year term at about 25 devices, then per device per month where monthly billing exists, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date; see each profile for the VAT basis, the seat band and what the tier above adds.

**Owned in: where the company that owns the vendor answers to. A US-owned vendor is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the console data sits. "Russian or Chinese link" records ownership, management or engineering links found on the research date, with the evidence on the profile; Saaskly marks these down in the score by editorial rule and says so.

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at Kaspersky Next EDR Foundations? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.