Saaskly

Heimdal

A Danish modular platform that bundles antivirus, ransomware encryption protection, patching, DNS filtering, privilege management and a 24/7 SOC for small firms and MSPs, with a Trustpilot 3.8 on 970 reviews. What to know: there is no commercial price without a sales call (the calculator is a lead form; the only fixed UK figure is a G-Cloud public-sector price of £48 a device a year), no result at any of the four independent labs for the business product, and the G-Cloud listing offers email and ticket support only, weekdays.

How we test
2.8/5
Saaskly score

Heimdal Security A/S was founded in Copenhagen in 2014 by Morten Kjaersgaard, who moved to chairman when Jesper Frederiksen became chief executive in May 2024; Marlin Equity Partners, a US private-equity firm, has held majority control since March 2020 through Danish holding companies. It claims over 15,000 customers and its registered address and VAT number appear on its own pricing page. Engineering locations are not published and we found no Russian or Chinese link.

Pricing needs a conversation. The pricing calculator on heimdalsecurity.com lets a visitor pick from twelve modules, a customer type (end customer, reseller, MSP or distributor), device and server counts and a currency including pounds, then demands a name, company, job title, email and phone before it will show a figure. We did not submit one, so we have no commercial price. The only fixed pounds prices we could find are Heimdal's listings on the UK Government's Digital Marketplace (G-Cloud 14): £4.00 a device a month, about £48 a year, for a bundle of next-generation antivirus, ransomware encryption protection, patch management and 24/7 SOC monitoring, and £2.98 a user a month for a Unified Threat Platform bundle of DNS security, patching and antivirus with mobile device management. Those are public-sector framework prices, not confirmed as what a small company pays. Trials run 14 or 30 days depending on the bundle. The grid says "Not published".

The platform is genuinely broad for the money it does not publish: Next-Gen Antivirus and Firewall, Ransomware Encryption Protection (which detects encryption without signatures), Patch and Asset Management for Windows, Linux and third-party software, DNS Security at network and endpoint level, Email Security for Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace, Privileged Access Management with automatic de-elevation on detection, Application Control, EDR, XDR and a managed MXDR service, all in one cloud dashboard with a multi-tenant view for MSPs, a documented REST API and integrations with ConnectWise RMM, Autotask PSA and HaloPSA. Windows Server deployment is documented, macOS 10.15 to 14 is listed, Linux is covered for patching. No MCP server was found.

The gap is evidence. Heimdal does not appear in AV-Comparatives' H1 2026 business test, its only AV-TEST result is a 2020 consumer product, we found no SE Labs rating and it did not take part in MITRE's 2025 round. Support on the G-Cloud antivirus bundle is email and ticketing, weekdays nine to five, with a four-hour response and no phone or chat, although the MXDR service has its own 24/7 channel. No breach of Heimdal was found. Trustpilot is 3.8 on 970 unprompted reviews, 4 per cent one-star, though some reviewers appear to be consumers. Not yet tested by Saaskly: assessed on published pricing, the independent test labs, vendor documentation and third-party reviews.

Cons

  • No commercial price without giving a salesperson your details; the only fixed figures are public-sector G-Cloud listings (marked down by editorial rule)
  • No result at AV-Comparatives, AV-TEST (business), SE Labs or MITRE for the business product
  • Email and ticket support only, weekdays, on the G-Cloud antivirus bundle; owned by US private equity (Marlin) since 2020

Pricing

Minimum commitment: £48 (£48/yr for the entry licence). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

Next-Gen Antivirus, Ransomware Encryption Protection, Patch Manager and 24/7 SOC (G-Cloud)

£4/mo · month-to-month

£48/yr on an annual commitment

Month-to-month costs -92% more

  • UK public-sector G-Cloud 14 price: £4.00 a device a month, about £48 a year, read 9 Sep 2026; VAT basis not stated. The commercial calculator on heimdalsecurity.com is a lead form and shows no price. Unified Threat Platform bundle (DNS security, patching, antivirus, MDM) £2.98 a user a month on G-Cloud. 14 or 30-day trial.

Specifications

Rating
2.8
Scored tier*Not published (G-Cloud bundle £48 a device a year as context)
Monthly billingAnnual only
Entry planScored tier is the entry plan
SeatsNo cap
ServersIncluded
EDRPaid add-on
MDRAdd-on, quote
Buy onlineNo
Self-service portalNo
AV-ComparativesNot among the 16 vendors in the H1 2026 Business Security Test
AV-TESTOnly a 2020 consumer result (Thor Premium 2.5); no business certification
SE LabsNot found
MITRE evaluatedNo
Ransomware rollbackNo
Web filtering
Email securityPaid add-on
PatchingIncluded
Device controlNo
PlatformsWindows · Mac · Linux · Server
Cloud console
RMM integrationsConnectWise RMM, Autotask PSA, HaloPSA
API
MCP serverNo
Owned in**US-owned
Russian or Chinese linkNone found
Phone supportNo
Trustpilot (reviews)3.8 (970)
Scored tier nameNot published (G-Cloud bundle £48 a device a year as context)
VAT basisExcluding VAT
Top planNone
EDR tier or add-onEDR, XDR and MXDR are separate modules, all quote-only
Monthly billing availableNo
How you buyPricing calculator that requires contact details, then sales; MSP and distributor routes; UK G-Cloud for the public sector
Free trial (days)30
Price changesNo commercial price published; G-Cloud £4.00 a device a month
Test record noteNo independent result for the business product at any of the four labs
Behavioural detection
Exploit preventionNo
Firewall management
Disk encryption managementNo
Vulnerability scanning
Application control
Mobile threat defenceNo
iOSNo
AndroidNo
Platform notesmacOS 10.15 to 14 per the G-Cloud listing; Linux for patching; ARM with limitations; no ChromeOS mention
On-premises console optionNo
Console data locationNot stated
DeploymentAgent installer; portal deployment; MSP onboarding wizard
SIEM exportNo
Multi-tenant console
SSO into consoleNo
HQDenmark
OwnerMarlin Equity Partners (US private equity), majority since 2020
Engineering locationsNot published
Link evidenceNone found
SOC 2No
ISO 27001No
Cyber EssentialsNo
Major incident on recordNo
Incident noteNo breach of Heimdal found; a CEO-fraud phishing attempt against the company was disclosed by Heimdal itself
Live chatNo
UK support hoursG-Cloud bundle: email and ticket, Mon to Fri 9 to 5, 4-hour response, no phone or chat; MXDR has its own 24/7 channel
Paid support tierOnsite support at extra cost
Support channelsEmail, Ticketing, Technical account manager (business hours)

*Scored tier: the business tier the score is set on (the cheapest plan with a cloud console covering Windows, macOS and Windows Server), per device per year on a one-year term at about 25 devices, then per device per month where monthly billing exists, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date; see each profile for the VAT basis, the seat band and what the tier above adds.

**Owned in: where the company that owns the vendor answers to. A US-owned vendor is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the console data sits. "Russian or Chinese link" records ownership, management or engineering links found on the research date, with the evidence on the profile; Saaskly marks these down in the score by editorial rule and says so.

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at Heimdal? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.