Saaskly

Xero

The accounting software Saaskly's own company runs on, and the one most UK accountants will happily work in: unlimited users on every plan, HMRC-recognised for VAT and for Making Tax Digital for Income Tax, a large app marketplace and an official MCP server. Grow is £39 a month once the 90 per cent introductory discount ends. What to know: no inbound phone line, the entry plan caps invoices at twenty a month, payroll and expenses are priced per person, and UK prices have risen every year.

How we test
4.4/5
Saaskly score

Xero Limited is a New Zealand company, founded in Wellington in 2006 and listed on the Australian Securities Exchange, with five million subscribers worldwide by its own count. In the UK it has become the default for small companies for a simple reason: accountants. Xero's partner programme claims 250,000 accountants and bookkeepers, every practice gets a free licence and a client console, and the practical effect for a small business is that whoever does your year end will already know the product. There are no per-user licence fees, so the director, the bookkeeper and the accountant all log in on the same plan.

Prices are in pounds excluding VAT, read on 8 September 2026, and Xero bills monthly only. Ignite is £18 a month and caps you at twenty invoices and quotes and ten bills a month, which is why a trading company outgrows it fast. Grow, at £39, is the plan we score: unlimited invoices and bills, bank feeds, VAT returns to HMRC, Making Tax Digital for Income Tax readiness, smart document capture for receipts, payroll for one person and expenses for one user. Comprehensive at £55 adds multi-currency, payroll for five and expenses for five; Ultimate at £70 adds projects, payroll for ten, KPIs and benchmarking. Every plan carries the same offer for new customers, 90 per cent off for the first six months, after which the regular price auto-renews. The add-ons matter: an extra payroll person is £1.50 a month, an extra expenses user £2.50, CIS returns £5 a month, auto-reconcile £3.50 a month on Ignite, and Company Accounts and Tax, which files micro-entity accounts to Companies House and the CT600 to HMRC, is £120 a year. Bank feeds are free for most banks, with a few UK banks' feed charges passed on. Xero has raised UK prices every September since 2021, and the September 2025 figures reported by accountancy firms (Grow £37, Comprehensive £50, Ultimate £65) are already below what the page shows today.

HMRC lists Xero on both its Making Tax Digital software lists, for VAT and for Income Tax, with quarterly updates and the tax return covered for sole traders and landlords with UK or foreign property. The ecosystem is the other reason it wins: Stripe and GoCardless are native (GoCardless charges 1 per cent capped at £2), the app marketplace is the largest in the category, the API is mature, and Xero publishes its own MCP server on GitHub, updated in June 2026, so an AI assistant can read and write the ledger without a third-party connector. JAX, Xero's AI assistant, and smart document capture are on every plan. Security is ISO 27001 and SOC 2, with PCI DSS for payments; Xero does not state a UK data region and secondary sources place hosting in the US.

The weak spots are real. Xero's support page says "we can call you if you contact us", which means there is no inbound phone line; support is Xero Central and the community forum, with a callback. Trustpilot is 4.1 on 11,320 reviews with 17 per cent one-star, and the recent one-star themes are bank feeds that stop working, rigid invoice templates and the way the trial and discount are framed. The invoice cap on Ignite and the per-person add-ons mean the headline price is rarely the one you pay.

In our experience: Next Generation ICT Ltd, the company behind Saaskly and Fractional Teams, has run its books on Xero for years. We chose it because it is the product most accountants support, the range of integrations is enormous and the pricing is reasonable for what it does, and none of that has changed. Saaskly has no affiliate link for Xero; the verdict is ours.

Cons

  • No inbound phone support: Xero Central, the forum and a callback are the channels
  • Ignite caps invoices at 20 a month; payroll and expenses are per person; multi-currency needs Comprehensive at £55
  • UK prices have risen every September since 2021; Trustpilot 4.1 with 17 per cent one-star, bank feeds the recurring complaint

Pricing

Minimum commitment: £18 (£18/mo × 1 seat × 1 months). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

Ignite

£18/mo · annual commitment

Month-to-month: not published

  • £18/mo ex VAT after 90% off for 6 months (£1.80). 20 invoices and quotes and 10 bills a month, VAT returns, MTD for Income Tax, smart document capture, CIS calculations; payroll £1.50 a person and auto-reconcile £3.50 optional. Monthly billing only.

Grow

£39/mo · annual commitment

Month-to-month: not published

  • £39/mo ex VAT after 90% off for 6 months (£3.90). Unlimited invoices and bills, payroll for 1, expenses for 1 user, auto-reconcile. Comprehensive £55 adds multi-currency, payroll for 5, expenses for 5; Ultimate £70 adds projects, payroll for 10. Company Accounts and Tax £120 a year; CIS returns £5 a month.

Specifications

Rating
4.4
Scored plan*£39/mo (Grow)
Entry plan£18/mo (Ignite)
Intro offer90% off for 6 months, or one month free
Sole trader planNone
Free tierNone
UsersUnlimited
Entry invoice cap20/mo
MTD VAT
MTD Income TaxHMRC recognised
Self Assessment
Corporation Tax
CIS
Bank feeds
Stripe
GoCardless
Multi-currencyAdd-on / higher tier
PayrollBuilt in
Receipt captureBuilt in
Projects
Inventory
Accountant console
API
MCP server
Owned in**NZ-owned
Phone supportNo
Trustpilot (reviews)4.1 (11,320)
Scored tierGrow
VAT basisExcluding VAT
Top plan£70/mo (Ultimate)
Accountant seat free
Payroll pricing1 person included on Grow (5 on Comprehensive, 10 on Ultimate), then £1.50 a person a month; £1 on Ultimate
Free trial (days)30
Companies House filing
RTI payroll
Bank feed noteFree for most banks; a few UK banks charge for feeds and Xero passes it on
Pay Now on invoices
Card / direct debit feesGoCardless 1% per transaction capped at £2 (GoCardless's figure)
Expense claims
Purchase orders
Quotes and estimates
Recurring invoices
Cashflow forecasting
Fixed assetsNo
AI featuresJAX AI assistant; smart document capture on every plan
Accountant networkXero partner programme, 250,000 accountants and bookkeepers (vendor figure, global, undated); free practice licence
WebhooksNo
Zapier / MakeNo
Mobile apps
HQNew Zealand
Listed onASX
Data locationNot stated for UK customers; secondary sources say US-hosted
SOC 2
ISO 27001
Cyber EssentialsNo
2FA mandatoryNo
Live chatNo
UK support hoursXero Central online 24/7; callback on request; no inbound phone line
Accountancy service bundledNo
Support channelsXero Central (online), Callback on request, Community forum

*Scored plan: the limited-company tier the score is set on (the cheapest plan a VAT-registered company with a few staff can run on), per month at the renewal price once any introductory discount ends, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date; see each profile for the VAT basis, the introductory offer and what the tier above adds.

**Owned in: where the company that owns the provider answers to. A US-owned provider is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the data centre is; a UK data centre is not the same thing as UK jurisdiction. "Data location" records where the ledger is stored.

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at Xero? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.