Saaskly

QuickFile

Free up to a thousand ledger entries a year, with unlimited users, multi-currency and a 4.8 Trustpilot on more than three thousand reviews.

Accounting SoftwareHow we test
3.4
Saaskly score / 5
8th of 11 in Accounting Software

Who owns it

QuickFile Ltd is a York private company, incorporated in 2009, and its pricing is unlike anything else on this page. There are no named plans for sole traders or companies; the size of your ledger sets the band. XS (up to 200 entries a year), S (to 500) and M (to 1,000) are free. L (to 4,000) and XL (4,001 and up) are £60 plus VAT a year, and above 40,000 entries you need an enterprise quote. All bands include unlimited users, two-factor authentication, API access, multi-currency, MTD-compatible VAT returns, invoicing with a branded client area, purchase and receipt management, estimates and reporting. Automated bank feeds are a separate £15 plus VAT a year. Prices read on 8 September 2026.

What it costs

The catch is the Power User subscription. The paid L and XL bands include it; free-band users can buy it to get the features that a VAT-registered company may want: the MTD VAT bridging module, MTD for Income Tax readiness, the "400+ integrations", segmented and cash-based profit and loss, invoice revision history, custom client email templates, webhooks and multi-currency reporting, plus the machine-learning Bank Tagging Insights and a discount on the AI Receipt Analyser. Its standalone price was not on the pricing page we read; a community source puts it at around £45 a year, which we have not confirmed. Read that way, a small VAT-registered company pays roughly £60 to £75 a year for the lot, which is the cheapest paid ledger in this comparison.

What you get and what to watch

HMRC lists QuickFile on the VAT list (product and bridging software) and on the Income Tax list for sole traders and UK property. Stripe and GoCardless integrations exist, there is an API with a newer REST generation, a Zapier app, and Affinity, a separate product that lets accountants host all their clients on one branded portal. Trustpilot is 4.8 on 3,127 invited reviews, 83 per cent five-star and under 1 per cent one-star, the best score on this page, with the one recent one-star about a confusing first MTD quarterly submission that support answered in public.

What QuickFile does not do is payroll (none found), CIS (not confirmed), Corporation Tax or Companies House filing, or phone support: help is a very active community forum, a knowledge base and a contact form. There is no official MCP server, only a community one. Data location and certifications are not stated. It suits the technically comfortable owner who wants a proper double-entry ledger for almost nothing and does not need hand-holding.

Not yet tested by Saaskly: assessed on published pricing, HMRC's software lists, vendor documentation and third-party reviews.

  • +Free to 1,000 ledger entries a year and £60 a year above that, with unlimited users, multi-currency and MTD VAT returns on every band
  • +On both HMRC lists; Stripe and GoCardless; API, webhooks and Zapier; Affinity portal for accountants
  • +Trustpilot 4.8 on 3,127 reviews, the best on this page

Cons

  • −Bank feeds are a £15-a-year add-on; MTD bridging, integrations and advanced reporting need the Power User subscription, whose price is not on the pricing page
  • −No payroll, no confirmed CIS, no Corporation Tax or Companies House filing
  • −Forum and contact-form support only; no MCP server; data location and certifications not stated

Pricing

Minimum commitment: Free (no licence cost). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

XS to M (free)

£0/yr · annual commitment

Month-to-month: not published

  • ✓Free up to 1,000 ledger entries a year: unlimited users, multi-currency, MTD VAT returns, invoicing, estimates, reporting, API. Bank feeds £15 + VAT a year. Power User subscription (MTD bridging, integrations, advanced reporting) sold separately; price not on the pricing page.

L and XL

£5/yr · annual commitment

Month-to-month: not published

  • ✓£60 + VAT a year (£5/mo equivalent) for 1,001 entries and up, Power User features included. Enterprise quote above 40,000 entries a year.

Specifications

Rating
3.4
Pricing and plans
Scored plan*£5/mo annual only (L and XL, £60 a year)
Entry planFree (XS to M)
Sole trader planNone
Free tierLimited
Scored tierL and XL, £60 a year
VAT basisExcluding VAT
Top planEnterprise (contact sales)
Free tier limitsUp to 1,000 ledger entries a year; Power User features and bank feeds cost extra
Accountant seat free✓
Free trial (days)0
Features
UsersUnlimited
Entry invoice capNo cap
MTD VAT✓
MTD Income TaxHMRC recognised
Self Assessment✓
Corporation TaxNo
CISNo
Bank feeds✓
Multi-currencyIncluded
PayrollNone
Receipt captureBuilt in
ProjectsNo
InventoryNo
Accountant console✓
Companies House filingNo
RTI payrollNo
Bank feed note£15 + VAT a year add-on
Pay Now on invoices✓
Expense claimsNo
Purchase ordersNo
Quotes and estimates✓
Recurring invoices✓
Cashflow forecastingNo
Fixed assetsNo
AI featuresBank Tagging Insights (machine learning), AI Receipt Analyser (metered)
Accountant networkQuickFile Affinity for practices; public accountant directory
Mobile appsNo
Accountancy service bundledNo
Integrations and developers
Stripe✓
GoCardless✓
API✓
MCP serverNo
Webhooks✓
Zapier / Make✓
Ownership and trust
Owned in**UK-owned
Trustpilot (reviews)4.8 (3,127)
HQUK
Data locationNot stated
SOC 2No
ISO 27001No
Cyber EssentialsNo
2FA mandatoryNo
Support
Phone supportNo
Live chatNo
UK support hoursCommunity forum, knowledge base and contact form; no phone
Support channelsCommunity forum, Knowledge base, Contact form

*Scored plan: the limited-company tier the score is set on (the cheapest plan a VAT-registered company with a few staff can run on), per month at the renewal price once any introductory discount ends, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date; see each profile for the VAT basis, the introductory offer and what the tier above adds.

**Owned in: where the company that owns the provider answers to. A US-owned provider is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the data centre is; a UK data centre is not the same thing as UK jurisdiction. "Data location" records where the ledger is stored.

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at QuickFile? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.