Saaskly

FreeAgent

Free for as long as you bank with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank or Mettle, and £33 a month otherwise, with payroll, Self Assessment, Corporation Tax and Companies House filing all inside the product and UK-based support accountants on the phone. Owned by NatWest Group, on both HMRC lists, Trustpilot 4.6. What to know: it is built for the owner-managed company rather than the growing one, the receipt tool is capped at ten a month unless you pay £5, and there is no official MCP server.

How we test
4.0/5
Saaskly score

FreeAgent is an Edinburgh company, bought by NatWest Group in 2018, and that ownership is the deal: if your business current account is with NatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland or Ulster Bank, or you use a Mettle account and make one transaction a month, FreeAgent costs nothing for as long as you keep the account. Everyone else pays a flat price per company rather than per user.

Prices in pounds excluding VAT, read on 8 September 2026. A limited company pays £33 a month, or £330 a year, with 50 per cent off for the first six months (£16.50) or the first year (£165). A sole trader pays £19 a month or £190 a year on the same offer. There is a 30-day trial. The product is one plan per business type with no tiers to climb: invoicing and estimates, expenses, projects and time tracking, bank feeds, cashflow, monthly payroll with RTI to HMRC, MTD VAT returns, Self Assessment filing, and Final Accounts and Corporation Tax filed from within FreeAgent. Smart Capture reads ten receipts and bills a month; unlimited is a £5 add-on, and an Amazon UK connector is £6. Customers can pay by Tyl by NatWest, Stripe, GoCardless or PayPal. Accounts on the cash basis do not get stock or payroll.

HMRC lists FreeAgent twice on its Making Tax Digital for Income Tax list, once as the paid product and once as "FreeAgent for free with Mettle, NatWest and RBS", and on the VAT list. Support is by UK-based support accountants online or over the phone, and the accountant sits in the account as a named user role; a practice programme gives accountants their own dashboard. The API is REST with OAuth 2.0 across 58 resource types including payroll, and there is a developer forum; there is no official MCP server, only a cluster of community ones on GitHub. Trustpilot is 4.6 on 3,006 invited reviews, 82 per cent five-star, with the one recent one-star we found complaining that FreeAgent let through an invalid CT600 in a charity-donation edge case.

The limits are the flip side of the simplicity. There is no plan above the flat one, so multi-user permissions, multi-currency and inventory are what they are; the product is aimed at the owner-managed company with a handful of staff, not the one heading for a finance team. Data location and security certifications are not stated on the pages we could read, and the receipt cap will annoy anyone with more than ten bills a month.

In our experience: we used FreeAgent years ago and found it basic and limited, aimed at the very small business and the self-employed. The product on the page today has grown a long way from that (payroll, Corporation Tax filing, projects), and the profile above reflects what it is now rather than what we remember. Saaskly has no affiliate link for FreeAgent.

Cons

  • One flat plan: no tier above it for a company that needs deeper permissions, multi-currency or stock
  • Receipt capture capped at 10 a month without the £5 add-on; data location and certifications not stated
  • No official MCP server; our own experience of it is dated

Pricing

Minimum commitment: £15.83 (£15.83/yr for the entry licence). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.

Sole Trader

£19/mo · month-to-month

£15.83/yr on an annual commitment

Month-to-month costs 20% more

  • £19/mo ex VAT or £190 a year (£15.83/mo); 50% off for 6 months or the first year. Free with a NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank business account or a Mettle account with one transaction a month. 30-day trial.

Limited Company

£33/mo · month-to-month

£27.50/yr on an annual commitment

Month-to-month costs 20% more

  • £33/mo ex VAT or £330 a year (£27.50/mo); 50% off for 6 months or the first year. Payroll, VAT, Self Assessment, Corporation Tax and Companies House filing included. Smart Capture Unlimited £5/mo, Amazon £6/mo.

Specifications

Rating
4.0
Scored plan*£33/mo · £27.50 annual (Limited Company)
Entry plan£19/mo (Sole Trader)
Intro offer50% off for 6 months (or the first year on annual billing)
Sole trader plan£19/mo (Sole Trader)
Free tierFull-featured
Entry invoice capNo cap
MTD VAT
MTD Income TaxHMRC recognised
Self Assessment
Corporation Tax
CISNo
Bank feeds
Stripe
GoCardless
Multi-currencyIncluded
PayrollBuilt in
Receipt captureBuilt in
Projects
Inventory
Accountant console
API
MCP serverNo
Owned in**UK-owned
Phone support
Trustpilot (reviews)4.6 (3,006)
Scored tierLimited Company
VAT basisExcluding VAT
Top planNone
Free tier limitsThe full product; add-ons may be chargeable
Free with a bank accountNatWest, Royal Bank of Scotland, Ulster Bank business current account, or Mettle with one transaction a month
Accountant seat free
Payroll pricingIncluded (monthly payroll with RTI); not on cash-basis accounts
Free trial (days)30
Companies House filing
RTI payroll
Pay Now on invoices
Own payments productTyl by NatWest
Expense claims
Purchase ordersNo
Quotes and estimates
Recurring invoices
Cashflow forecasting
Fixed assetsNo
AI featuresSmart Capture, smart categorisation, Radar insights
Accountant networkFreeAgent practice programme; adviser count not published
WebhooksNo
Zapier / MakeNo
Mobile apps
HQUK
OwnerNatWest Group
Listed onLSE (NatWest Group plc)
Data locationNot stated
SOC 2No
ISO 27001No
Cyber EssentialsNo
2FA mandatoryNo
Live chatNo
UK support hoursUK-based support accountants, online and by phone; hours not stated
Accountancy service bundledNo
Support channelsPhone (UK), Online support, Knowledge base

*Scored plan: the limited-company tier the score is set on (the cheapest plan a VAT-registered company with a few staff can run on), per month at the renewal price once any introductory discount ends, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date; see each profile for the VAT basis, the introductory offer and what the tier above adds.

**Owned in: where the company that owns the provider answers to. A US-owned provider is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the data centre is; a UK data centre is not the same thing as UK jurisdiction. "Data location" records where the ledger is stored.

Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI

Work at FreeAgent? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.