Clear Books
UK-built and UK-supported since 2008, with phone support on every company plan, CIS reporting, a free Making Tax Digital for Income Tax plan for sole traders and landlords, and a partner programme it says a thousand practices use. Medium, the first plan with VAT submissions, is £34 a month. What to know: VAT is not on the £16 Small plan, multi-currency and expense claims need Large at £44, the ecosystem is small, the API is on request and there is no MCP server.
How we testClear Books Limited is a London private company, incorporated in 2008, and one of the few products here that is British from the ground up: the code, the support desk and the accountant network are all in the UK. HMRC lists Clear Books on the VAT list and both "Clear Books" and "Clear Books Free" on the Income Tax list, covering sole traders and UK and foreign property.
Prices are in pounds plus VAT, read on 8 September 2026, with 10 per cent off for a year paid upfront and 20 per cent off for two, 50 per cent off the first three months on new subscriptions, and a 30-day trial. The company ladder is Small at £16 a month (bank feeds with automated matching, invoicing, full reporting, integrations and API, journals, a dividends tool and user permissions), Medium at £34, which is the plan we score because it is where MTD VAT submissions arrive along with purchase orders, CIS reporting and submissions and unlimited budgets, and Large at £44 with project accounting, multi-currency, employee expense claims and fixed assets. Sole traders have their own ladder: a free plan built around MTD for Income Tax quarterly updates and year-end filing with no transaction limits, Sole Trader at £5 with bank feeds and invoicing, and Sole Trader Plus at £15 for the VAT-registered. Payroll is a bolt-on at £2.70 per employee a month with a two-employee minimum, RTI and auto-enrolment included; Instant Bank Payments lets customers pay invoices by open banking; Auto Bills captures supplier bills. Stripe, GoCardless and PayPal are integrated, and bank feeds run through Plaid.
Support is phone and email on every company plan, and the partner programme gives accountants a free practice licence, a client console, an account manager and weekly MTD webinars, with a claimed thousand-plus UK practices. Trustpilot is 3.9 on 382 invited reviews, 66 per cent five-star, with only two recent one-stars we could find, one about receipt photos and HMRC submissions that Clear Books disputed publicly, one saying "too expensive".
The limits are scale and reach. The app ecosystem is small next to Xero's or QuickBooks', the REST API is granted on request through a contact form rather than self-serve, there is no MCP server, we could not confirm data location or certifications, and the company plans do not state a user count. For a UK company that wants a UK supplier on the phone, CIS and VAT handled properly and a fair price, that may be a trade worth making.
Not yet tested by Saaskly: assessed on published pricing, HMRC's software lists, vendor documentation and third-party reviews.
Pros
- +UK-owned, UK-supported, phone and email on every company plan; CIS reporting and submissions on Medium
- +On both HMRC lists, with a free MTD for Income Tax plan for sole traders and landlords; Stripe, GoCardless and open-banking payments
- +Yearly and two-yearly discounts of 10 and 20 per cent; partner programme with a claimed 1,000+ UK practices
Cons
- −VAT submissions start at Medium (£34), not Small; multi-currency, expense claims and fixed assets need Large (£44)
- −Small ecosystem; API on request; no MCP server; user count on company plans not stated
- −Data location and certifications not confirmed; Trustpilot 3.9 on only 382 reviews
Pricing
Minimum commitment: £14.40 (£14.40/yr for the entry licence). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.
Small
£16/mo · month-to-month
£14.40/yr on an annual commitment
Month-to-month costs 11% more
- ✓£16/mo plus VAT monthly, £14.40/mo yearly, £12.80/mo two-yearly; 50% off the first 3 months. Bank feeds, invoicing, reporting, API, journals, dividends tool. No VAT submissions. Sole Trader Free £0, Sole Trader £5, Sole Trader Plus £15 (VAT).
Medium
£34/mo · month-to-month
£30.60/yr on an annual commitment
Month-to-month costs 11% more
- ✓£34/mo plus VAT monthly, £30.60/mo yearly, £27.20/mo two-yearly. Adds MTD VAT submissions, purchase orders, CIS reporting and submissions, unlimited budgets. Large £44 adds projects, multi-currency, expense claims, fixed assets. Payroll £2.70 per employee (min 2). 30-day trial.
Specifications
| Rating | 3.6 |
| Scored plan* | £34/mo · £30.60 annual (Medium) |
| Entry plan | £16/mo (Small) |
| Intro offer | 50% off the first 3 months; 10% off yearly, 20% off two-yearly |
| Sole trader plan | £5/mo (Sole Trader) |
| Free tier | Limited |
| Entry invoice cap | No cap |
| MTD VAT | ✓ |
| MTD Income Tax | HMRC recognised |
| Self Assessment | ✓ |
| Corporation Tax | No |
| CIS | ✓ |
| Bank feeds | ✓ |
| Stripe | ✓ |
| GoCardless | ✓ |
| Multi-currency | Add-on / higher tier |
| Payroll | Vendor add-on |
| Receipt capture | Built in |
| Projects | ✓ |
| Inventory | No |
| Accountant console | ✓ |
| API | ✓ |
| MCP server | No |
| Owned in** | UK-owned |
| Phone support | ✓ |
| Trustpilot (reviews) | 3.9 (382) |
| Scored tier | Medium |
| VAT basis | Excluding VAT |
| Top plan | £44/mo (Large) |
| Free tier limits | Sole Trader Free: MTD for Income Tax records, quarterly updates and year-end filing; no bank feeds or invoicing |
| Accountant seat free | ✓ |
| Payroll pricing | £2.70 per employee a month, minimum 2 employees; RTI and auto-enrolment |
| Free trial (days) | 30 |
| Companies House filing | No |
| RTI payroll | ✓ |
| Bank feed note | Via Plaid |
| Pay Now on invoices | ✓ |
| Own payments product | Instant Bank Payments (open banking) |
| Expense claims | ✓ |
| Purchase orders | ✓ |
| Quotes and estimates | ✓ |
| Recurring invoices | No |
| Cashflow forecasting | No |
| Fixed assets | ✓ |
| Accountant network | Clear Books Partner Programme, 1,000+ UK practices (vendor figure, undated); free practice licence |
| Webhooks | No |
| Zapier / Make | No |
| Mobile apps | ✓ |
| HQ | UK |
| Data location | Not stated |
| SOC 2 | No |
| ISO 27001 | No |
| Cyber Essentials | No |
| 2FA mandatory | No |
| Live chat | No |
| UK support hours | UK phone and email support on every company plan; hours not stated |
| Accountancy service bundled | No |
| Support channels | Phone (UK), Email, Support centre |
*Scored plan: the limited-company tier the score is set on (the cheapest plan a VAT-registered company with a few staff can run on), per month at the renewal price once any introductory discount ends, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date; see each profile for the VAT basis, the introductory offer and what the tier above adds.
**Owned in: where the company that owns the provider answers to. A US-owned provider is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the data centre is; a UK data centre is not the same thing as UK jurisdiction. "Data location" records where the ledger is stored.
Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI
Work at Clear Books? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.