ThreatDown by Malwarebytes
Malwarebytes' business line, with the cheapest published MDR on this page: Core is £57.04 a device a year, Advanced with EDR £65.31, Elite with MDR £81.84, all bought online in pounds with ransomware rollback on every tier. What to know: the online store stops at 20 devices per line, servers are an add-on at every tier, Core has no EDR at all, the last independent business test was 2022, and Malwarebytes' own mailbox was breached by the SolarWinds-era attackers in 2021.
How we testThreatDown is not a company but the business brand Malwarebytes Inc. launched on 7 November 2023 for what had been Malwarebytes for Business; the UK entity became ThreatDown UK Limited (Companies House 09987777) in April 2026. Malwarebytes was founded in 2008 by Marcin Kleczynski, who remains chief executive, is privately held with a $100 million investment from Vector Capital in 2022, and lists offices in Santa Clara, Florida, Cork, Tallinn, Italy, Lisbon, Bilbao and Tel Aviv. We found no Russian or Chinese link.
Prices are in pounds, read on 9 September 2026 at threatdown.com and in the Cleverbridge-run checkout with a UK address. Whether they include VAT is not stated; the checkout takes a VAT number, so we record them as ex VAT and flag it. The four bundles are Core (£57.04 a device a year), Advanced (£65.31) with EDR, Elite (£81.84) with MDR and Ultimate (£110.57) with MDR Plus, identity threat detection and Premium Support built in, with 20 per cent off for a three-year term. Core is the tier we score because it is the cheapest with a cloud console covering Windows, macOS and Linux; servers are an add-on at every tier, so a mixed estate costs more than the headline. The store sets a hard limit of 20 devices per line item: typing 25 snapped back to 20 every time, so our 25-device benchmark needs two lines or the partner route the pricing page also offers. Email security, DNS filtering, mobile security and Premium Support are unpriced add-ons. No trial or renewal terms were found on the pages we read.
The feature ladder is honest. Ransomware rollback (up to seven days of encrypted files), browser phishing protection, device control, vulnerability assessment and an application blocklist are on every tier; host firewall management, patch management and Windows disk encryption management start at Advanced; EDR at Advanced; MDR at Elite, with no MDR option at all on Core. The Nebula console is browser-based, with OneView for multi-tenant MSP use, generic installer and RMM deployment, and a long integration list: Syncro, SuperOps, ConnectWise Asio, Automate and Manage, Kaseya VSA and BMS, Datto RMM and Autotask, Atera; Splunk, Microsoft Sentinel and Google Chronicle for SIEM. NinjaOne and N-able are not on it. No MCP server was found.
The independent record is thin and dated. Malwarebytes was Approved in AV-Comparatives' August to November 2022 business test and has not appeared since; it is not in AV-TEST's June 2026 business round; we found no SE Labs or MITRE result; the "14 consecutive quarters" MRG Effitas claim is the vendor's. In January 2021 Malwarebytes disclosed that the SolarWinds-era attackers had read a subset of its internal email through a dormant Office 365 protection product, with no access to its source code or products. ThreatDown's own Trustpilot profile has one review; the 4.4 on 5,416 for malwarebytes.com is the consumer product. G2 gives it 4.6, by ThreatDown's own homepage badge. Not yet tested by Saaskly: assessed on published pricing, the independent test labs, vendor documentation and third-party reviews.
Pros
- +Published GBP prices for EDR (£65.31) and MDR (£81.84), the cheapest fixed-price MDR on this page, bought online with a card
- +Ransomware rollback, device control and vulnerability assessment on every tier; Nebula console with a long RMM, PSA and SIEM integration list
- +US-owned and privately held with offices across Europe; no Russian or Chinese link found
Cons
- −The online store caps each line at 20 devices, below our 25-device benchmark; servers are an add-on at every tier, so a mixed estate costs more
- −No EDR on Core and no MDR option on it at all; VAT basis not stated at checkout
- −No independent business test since 2022 and nothing at AV-TEST or MITRE; the 2021 breach of Malwarebytes' own email; ThreatDown's Trustpilot profile has one review
Pricing
Minimum commitment: £57.04 (£57.04/yr for the entry licence). The least you can spend before walking away; excludes numbers, minutes and add-ons.
Core
£57.04/yr · annual commitment
Month-to-month: not published
- ✓£57.04 per device per year, GBP, VAT basis not stated (checkout takes a VAT number), read 9 Sep 2026. Next-gen AV, ransomware rollback, browser phishing protection, device control, vulnerability assessment. No EDR and no MDR option. Online store capped at 20 devices per line; partner route above. 20% off a 3-year term.
Advanced (EDR) / Elite (MDR)
£65.31/yr · annual commitment
Month-to-month: not published
- ✓Advanced £65.31 per device per year adds EDR, firewall management, patch management and Windows drive encryption management. Elite £81.84 adds MDR; Ultimate £110.57 adds MDR Plus, identity threat detection and Premium Support. Servers, email security, DNS filtering and mobile security are add-ons at every tier.
Specifications
| Rating | 3.2 |
| Scored tier* | £57.04/device/yr (Core) |
| Monthly billing | Annual only |
| Entry plan | Scored tier is the entry plan |
| Seats | Up to 20 |
| Servers | Separate SKU |
| EDR | Next tier up |
| MDR | Add-on, £81.84/device/yr |
| Buy online | ✓ |
| Self-service portal | ✓ |
| AV-Comparatives | Business Security Test Aug to Nov 2022: Approved; not tested since |
| AV-TEST | Not in the June 2026 business round |
| SE Labs | Not found |
| MITRE evaluated | No |
| Ransomware rollback | ✓ |
| Web filtering | ✓ |
| Email security | Paid add-on |
| Patching | Paid add-on |
| Device control | ✓ |
| Platforms | Windows · Mac · Linux |
| Cloud console | ✓ |
| RMM integrations | Syncro, SuperOps, ConnectWise Asio, Automate and Manage, Kaseya VSA and BMS, Datto RMM and Autotask, Atera |
| API | ✓ |
| MCP server | No |
| Owned in** | US-owned |
| Russian or Chinese link | None found |
| Phone support | No |
| Trustpilot (reviews) | 3.7 (1) |
| Scored tier name | Core |
| VAT basis | Excluding VAT |
| Top plan | £110.57/device/yr (Ultimate) |
| EDR tier or add-on | Advanced, £65.31 per device per year |
| Monthly billing available | No |
| How you buy | Cleverbridge checkout at store.threatdown.com (card or PayPal), 20 devices per line; partner or MSP route via the pricing page |
| Free trial (days) | 0 |
| Price changes | 20% off for a three-year term; no dated UK price change found |
| Test record note | MRG Effitas claims are vendor-repeated and unverified |
| Behavioural detection | ✓ |
| Exploit prevention | No |
| Firewall management | No |
| Disk encryption management | No |
| Vulnerability scanning | ✓ |
| Application control | ✓ |
| Mobile threat defence | No |
| iOS | No |
| Android | No |
| Platform notes | Servers via the Server Protection add-on at every tier; mobile (iOS, Android, ChromeOS) via the Mobile Security add-on; firewall, patching and drive encryption management from Advanced |
| On-premises console option | No |
| Console data location | Not stated |
| Deployment | Generic installer, RMM push |
| SIEM export | ✓ |
| Multi-tenant console | ✓ |
| SSO into console | No |
| HQ | United States |
| Owner | Malwarebytes Inc. (Vector Capital investor) |
| Engineering locations | US, Ireland, Estonia, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Israel |
| Link evidence | None found |
| SOC 2 | No |
| ISO 27001 | No |
| Cyber Essentials | No |
| Major incident on record | ✓ |
| Incident note | January 2021: SolarWinds-era nation-state actor read a subset of Malwarebytes internal email via a dormant Office 365 protection product; no product or source-code access |
| Live chat | ✓ |
| UK support hours | Console and live chat; phone for Severity 1 only; 24/7 phone is Premium Support (included on Ultimate) |
| Paid support tier | Premium Support add-on, quote |
| Support channels | Console tickets, Live chat, Phone (Severity 1) |
*Scored tier: the business tier the score is set on (the cheapest plan with a cloud console covering Windows, macOS and Windows Server), per device per year on a one-year term at about 25 devices, then per device per month where monthly billing exists, in the currency the vendor shows a UK visitor on the research date; see each profile for the VAT basis, the seat band and what the tier above adds.
**Owned in: where the company that owns the vendor answers to. A US-owned vendor is subject to US law (including the CLOUD Act) wherever the console data sits. "Russian or Chinese link" records ownership, management or engineering links found on the research date, with the evidence on the profile; Saaskly marks these down in the score by editorial rule and says so.
Researched and drafted with AI assistance; reviewed and approved by Tim Meredith. How we use AI
Work at ThreatDown by Malwarebytes? Something not look right? Register in the vendor portal to see what we publish and send corrections.